2021 Burien City Council Election Certified

Congratulations to Hugo Garcia, Jimmy Matta, Sarah Moore, and Stephanie Mora for Winning Positions on the Burien City Council
Posted on 12/14/2021
Congratulations to the new Burien City Councilmembers.

The results of the 2021 election have been certified by King County Elections, and the City of Burien received the certificates of election on December 10, 2021. The Burien community re-elected Mayor Jimmy Matta (Position 3) for another four-year term. They also elected Hugo Garcia (Position 1), Sarah Moore (Position 5), and Stephanie Mora (Position 7).

They will each serve four-year terms. Their first regular business meeting is January 10, 2022. This is when a ceremonial swearing-in ceremony will take place. The City Council will also select the mayor and deputy mayor at this meeting.

Burien is a council manager form of government and on the first city council meeting of the year, city councilmembers select one of their fellow councilmembers for the position of mayor (every two years) and the deputy mayor (every year).

Other election results can be found on the King County Elections website.